Review: Delicious!

Delicious!

Anyone hungry for milkweed pods?

I love a good food book, and Reichl’s novel Delicious! delivers on that score. Reichl is mostly known for being a food critic, so that shouldn’t be surprising. Her book opens with the most evocative descriptions of spices, from nutmeg to cardamom, as the protagonist develops her signature recipe for gingerbread. Later, the protagonist walks the streets of NYC, tasting her way from one shop to the next, from the chocolatier to the butcher to the cheese monger. I was drooling! These sensual descriptions are the strength of the book.

In Delicious! Reichl heaps mystery upon mystery about a young woman who goes to work for a food magazine (but who claims not to cook despite her amazing palate) and a secret cache of letters from World War II written to American Food forefather James Beard (this is where those milkweed pods come in). While the book is interesting, it becomes a bit overbaked for my liking. The middle of the book lagged, and I found myself wanting to speed through some pages of letters.

Overall, Reichl’s book is one to read if you like a good food book–but be prepared to come away hungry! Anyone else out there enjoy food books? I’m far from a professional chef, but I love to read about food people. Any books/authors you’d recommend?

12 thoughts on “Review: Delicious!

    • I read a lot of auto/biographies about food industry people, and they can sometimes be dry (and ego heavy). Reichl’s nonfiction books have a lot of personality to them, and this, her first novel, is a nice melding of her food knowledge with story. She even manages to throw in a bit of history with discussion of what people were eating to survive WWII rationing. Hope you enjoy it if you check it out!

      Like

      • Thank goodness for online shopping, right?! I try not to buy too many books (WAY too many already), so I rely on my library’s interlibrary loan program. I’m sure they get tired of holds coming in with my name on them!

        Like

  1. Hi Amy
    Nice to meet you 🙂 I found your blog through meet & great. Just came around to say a Hi. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    Have a great day!
    Arcane owl

    Like

Let's Talk!

